Oh, The Things We Say:)

13 Apr

Well, I pray that you have had a wonderful day. As for myself, I’ve had better days and I’ve had worse days. Basically…Today was nothing to write home about. That’s the best way I can put it.

Did you notice the phrase I just used “nothing to write home about”? I find that as I get older I mentally collect these sayings to include in my vocabulary and every day conversation. Yet, I don’t know the origins of where they came from.

If you tuned in to Tuesday’s program you know exactly what I’m talking about! Ryan and I really enjoyed this topic because we are both history buffs. Not only did we learn about historic phrases that are constantly used during regular conversations but we also realized many of these sayings do come from the Bible!!

I have to admit, I didn’t think so many of the phrases that we use actually do come from scripture.  Here’s an example,  A Broken Heart  comes from Psalsm 34:18 “ The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in Spirit” (NIV).

I think language is beautiful. The way you can paint a picture with a thousand words and the effect of those words have the ability to bring up a flood of emotions.  If we are able to experience such amazing emotions here on earch I can’t wait to experience what God has in store for us when we get to heaven.

-Caroline

One Response to “Oh, The Things We Say:)”

  1. Debbie Fritz April 20, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I listen to both of you in the morning on my way to work. I really like this new program that you are doing. I have also won some of the prizes that you offer for the callers.

    May God keep blessing you both

    Debbie Fritz

Leave a Reply

